Some of the old-time favorite New Wave & Synthpop bands work on a come-back (have they ever been away?) with new (or renewed) releases. We thought it might be interesting to let you know that Soft Cell, Duran Duran and Dave Stewart are back: alive & kicking.

Soft Cell announces a new remix album ‘Nostalgia Machine’

Soft Cell follow up 2022’s acclaimed Top 10 long player *Happiness not included with the release of two expanded album editions via BMG on 28th July.  They also release a new single, Nostalgia Machine with brand new remixes by Hifi Sean and Wally Funk on 11th August.

Hifi Sean is a DJ and producer who has worked with an incredible list of artists over the years, including Yoko Ono, Alan Vega, Bootsy Collins, The B-52’s and Crystal Waters. The latter scored a U.S Billboard Dance #1 with Crystal for his single ‘Testify’.

A very sought after remixer, and very selective about who he works with, but a huge Soft Cell fan, who has remixed previous tracks for Marc and Dave, and road tests his remixes DJing in some of the world’s top nightclubs.

Wally Funk are a young production duo from Mitte, Berlin recently remixed Soft Cell’s seminal ‘Memorabilia’ which is currently creating waves in underground clubs on the continent.  Their Italo Disco-influenced sound is set to tear up dancefloors on this, only their fifth ever remix.

*Happiness now extended is a limited-edition double vinyl album, featuring longer versions of all twelve tracks from the original May 2022 release, and including the singles – airplay smash Purple Zone (with Pet Shop Boys), Bruises On All My Illusions and Nostalgia Machine.  Restricted to 1000 copies, it is available to pre-order now from

So fruitful also were the original *Happiness not included sessions that the CD version of the album, subtitled *Happiness now completed features ten brand new Marc Almond and Dave Ball tracks, plus unreleased mixes, remixes and single-only tracks.  The new 78-minute set fits snugly into to the rear section of the original *Happiness not included CD book format, with no versions on the vinyl duplicated on the CD.  Both formats also feature brand new sleeve designs.

Soft Cell are currently performing their biggest run of live shows since 2002, with remaining dates as follows:

  • 23rd July – Barcelona Poble Espanol (headline)
  • 11th August – Audley End House & Gardens (with special guests OMD and Heaven 17)
  • 9th September – Wiston House, Steyning (near Worthing, Sussex, UK)
  • 16th September – Radio 2 in the Park (Leicester, UK)
  • 18th November – Dark Waves Festival (California, US)
  • 29th February 2024 – The 80s Cruise (Departing Florida, US

More info here.

Eurythmics songbook and Sweet Dreams 40th anniversary tour.

Dave Stewart Announces Celebratory Tour for 40th Anniversary of “Sweet Dreams” Album

Eurythmics fans, get ready to relive the magic! Dave Stewart, the talented guitarist of the iconic band, has announced exciting plans to hit the road in celebration of the 40th anniversary of their classic album, “Sweet Dreams.” While fans may be disappointed to learn that Annie Lennox won’t be joining him on stage, Dave Stewart promises an unforgettable experience full of nostalgia and remarkable talent as he delves into the Eurythmics Songbook.

Although Annie won’t be on stage, the tour is with her blessing and Dave Stewart assures fans that he has assembled a sensational lineup, consisting of brilliant all-female musicians and three incredible female vocalists. He assures us that the show will be a spectacle, boasting a collection of unforgettable songs that have stood the test of time.

As of now, only one show has been announced for the tour, set to take place on November 7th in Basel, Switzerland which is Sold Out already! However, avid fans need not worry, as Stewart promises more live show announcements in the near future. So keep your eyes peeled for updates on additional tour dates!

More info here.

Duran Duran announces new album ‘Danse Macabre’

Danse Macabre is the upcoming sixteenth studio album by the British band Duran Duran. It is set to be released on 27 October 2023 through BMG and Tape Modern. A Halloween-themed album, the record will include three new tracks, covers and reimagined versions of Duran Duran classics. The band’s former guitarists Andy Taylor and Warren Cuccurullo play on a few songs on the album. It marks their first appearance on a Duran Duran record since 2006 (a cover of John Lennon’s Instant Karma!) and 2000, respectively. Nile Rodgers and Victoria De Angelis of Måneskin also feature as guest artists.

Duran Duran is also involved in a huge tour, more info here.