Neu! – 50th anniversary vinyl & CD box

Influential Krautrock band NEU! will reissue 50th anniversary vinyl and CD box sets in September.

Formed in Düsseldorf, West Germany, in 1971, the band consisted of Klaus Dinger and Michael Rother, who had both previously been members of Kraftwerk. They issued three albums in the original era (Neu!Neu! 2 and Neu! ’75), all co-produced by the legendary Conny Plank. A fourth and final album Neu! 4 was also issued in 1986 (also known as Neu! ’86)

The 5CD features all four original albums, plus a fifth ‘tribute’ album featuring interpretations and remixes from the like of Mogwai, Stephen Morris from New Order, The National and Alexis Taylor from Hot Chip. The 5LP edition drops the four Neu! album from 1986 and spreads the tribute album over the last two vinyl records. 

The CD set comes with a stencil and booklet, while the vinyl package offers the same (although the ‘booklet’ looks more like a hardcover book).

Neu! 50! will be released on 23 September 2022 via Grönland, more info here.